

Tenterden Town Council News

Town Hall, 24 High Street, Tenterden, Kent TN30 6AN

Installation of the Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports

Confederation of the Cinque Ports



Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports. Admiral Sir George Zambelles

Tenterden represented at the Installation Ceremony of the Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports on Tuesday 29 October

The Installation Ceremony of the Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports, Admiral Sir George Zambellas, was held at the Duke of York's Royal Military School in Dover on Tuesday 29th October 2024.

This historic event took place in the Chapel at the Military School followed by a special session of the Grand Court of Shepway, when representatives from the member towns of the Cinque Ports gathered to witness the proceedings and welcome the new Lord Warden.

Tenterden Town Council News 29 October 2024



Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports. Admiral Sir George Zambelles with Cllr Sue Ferguson, Mayor of Tenterden









Photo L. to R: David Lay (Sergeant at Mace), Cllr Sue Ferguson (Mayor of Tenterden), Debbie Baines (Town Clerk), Cllr Andrew Holcombe (Deputy Mayor of Tenterden)

With roots dating back centuries, the Cinque Ports were once essential in defending England's coast, supplying ships and sailors in exchange for unique privileges from the Crown.

Though no longer a naval defence, the Confederation of the Cinque Ports thrives today, celebrating the unique heritage and history of each member town. The Lord Warden, once one of the kingdom's most significant officials, oversees both the Cinque Ports and Dover Castle.

The Confederation includes: 5 Head Ports: Hastings, New Romney, Hythe, Dover, Sandwich; 2 Ancient Towns: Rye, Winchelsea; 7 Limbs: Tenterden, Lydd, Folkestone, Faversham, Margate, Deal, Ramsgate.

the Tenterden group at the Installation: Councillor Sue Ferguson (Mayor of Tenterden), Debbie Baines Clerk), Andrew Holcombe (Town (Deputy Mayor of Tenterden), David Lay (Sergeant at Mace), Reverend Jeanette Kennett (Mayor's Chaplain), Curteis (Cinque Cllr Jean Champion) Cllr Pam Smith (Cinque Ports Champion), Cllr Justin Nelson, Cllr Andy Keates, Cllr Bryan Hirst, John Crawford (Coronation Baron of the Cinque Ports), Raymond Crawfurd (Honorary Freeman), and Debbie Greaves (Honorary Freewoman)

Confederation of the Cinque Ports www.cinqueports.org

Tenterden Town Council

Town Hall 24 High Street Tenterden Kent TN30 6AN